Multiple Teams · White Hawks Name Honorary Captains

Continuing a tradition started last year, the Mound Westonka High School football team will name honorary captains before each home game this fall.

Scott “Scotty B” Bjorlin and Sarah Reinhardt served as honorary captains for the season opener Sept. 2. Bjorlin and Reinhardt are the 2016 recipients of the Ann Bremer White Hawks Award for community service.

Reinhardt was honored with the award for her work as a photography volunteer for White Hawks athletics and for her ongoing support of the Future Cities program at Grandview Middle School. Bjorlin was recognized for his numerous contributions to Hilltop Primary School – including serving as a chaperone and tutor – and to the school district as a whole.

Upcoming honorary captains
2016 Westonka Teacher of the Year Sue Simonson will serve as honorary captain for the Sept. 9 home game against Columbia Heights. She was nominated by her colleagues for the Teacher of the Year Award last school year and was selected by a committee of administrators and staff based on her remarkable achievements and efforts. Simonson has proven to be an innovative leader at Mound Westonka High School, most notably with the Westonka Tech Interns course and award-winning DECA program.

The Oct. 7 Homecoming game has been dubbed “Fred Hanley Night” in honor of the long-time teacher and coach who passed away in June. Hanley served as head coach for the football team from 1972 to 1992. Members of Fred’s family will serve as White Hawks honorary captains, and all of his former players are invited back to pay tribute to their coach.