Varsity Wrestling · White Hawks Wrestlers Receive End-of-Season Awards

The Mound Westonka wrestling squad held its end of the season banquet March 13 at Mound Westonka High School, concluding an excellent season.

“We had a great year and took another step towards achieving our goals as a program,” said head coach Todd Munsterteiger. “Now we need to follow it up with an even better offseason.”

Earning team awards for the White Hawks were: ninth-grader Lance Munsterteiger, JV Wrestler of the Year; eighth-grader Jacob Maas, Junior High Wrestler of the Year; junior Kris Kurtz, Hardest Worker; sophomore Noah Lietzau, Most Improved; junior Ben Schmalz, Most Valuable Wrestler; and junior Ryan Lezer, Coaches Award. The White Hawks had two All-Conference wrestlers in Schmalz and Lietzau and three All-Conference Honorable Mention wrestlers in Kurtz, junior Ethan Devore and sophomore Ryan Fitz.

Several White Hawks wrestlers received individual academic awards for cumulative GPAs over 3.0, and the team earned the Academic Gold Award from the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association with a 3.58 team GPA. The top ten GPAs from the section team were used, and wrestlers contributing were: Schmalz; Kurtz; Lance Munsterteiger; ninth-grader Owen Rostis; sophomores Tyler Stevenson, Artie Witschorik and Seth Anderson; and juniors Shane Stevenson, Brock Munsterteiger and Jack Dioszeghy.

The White Hawks wrestling coaching staff would like to thank all of the parents, administration and members of the Mound Wrestling Organization for all of their contributions throughout the year.

“We had an outstanding year and have built a solid program, and a lot of credit needs to go to our parents,” commented assistant coach Eric Rodelius. “They have done a tremendous job supporting their kids and contributing to the program.”