Girls Varsity Hockey · White Hawks Girls Hockey Players Earn Year-End Awards

By Bob Kuehl

The Mound Westonka/Watertown-Mayer/Southwest Christian girls hockey program held its banquet this month at the Lafayette Club. Awards were given out after the coaches and players celebrated their season.

For the White Hawks JV team, ninth-grader Avery Finck was selected as Hardest Worker. Sophomore Chloe Kantola was named Most Improved, and sophomore Brita Haataja was given the Coaches Award.

For the varsity, the following awards were given out:

Most Improved – eighth-grader Montana Courneya
Rookie of the Year – eighth-grader Kailey Niccum
Hard Hat Award – ninth-grader Brooke Pioske
Offensive Player of Year – junior Sydney Hules
Defensive Player of Year – ninth-grader Brooke Pioske
Most Valuable Player – junior Taylor Smith

The Wright County All-Conference Awards were also given out. Honorable Mention All-Conference winners were Pioske, junior Lauren Burris and junior Emily Schepers. Smith was named All-Conference.

Hules and Schepers return as captains next season and may be joined by other players after the summer training is completed.