NHS National Honor Society · New Members Inducted into National Honor Society

Senior NHS members
NHS Graduating Class

By Lorrie Ham

A total of 45 Mound Westonka High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society (NHS) at a special ceremony for students and their families on May 6. Another 34 seniors, who were inducted into the program last year, were also on hand for special recognition. Advisor Sarah Lyngby welcomed the visitors and thanked the parents for their support and hard work.

The inductees recited the new member pledge, which encourages high standards of scholarship, leadership, service and character. The officers of the NHS Executive Board spoke to each of those standards.Junior Vice President Charlie Reinhardt spoke on service to the school district and the community. NHS members donated service hours to various local organizations and events this year, including Feed My Starving Children, the Shirley Hills carnival, local sports teams and WeCAN. Students also helped staff the Shirley Hills Primary School warming house, hosted a pair of blood drives and participated in a local highway cleanup program.

Junior Treasurer Taylor Smith shared some thoughts on leadership, while senior Secretary Reed Kohls defined character. On scholarship, senior President Megan Heins noted that NHS inductees have at least a 3.5 GPA. She encouraged students to commit themselves to scholarship for life.

Each new member was introduced and received a certificate in front of family and friends. The senior NHS members were recognized and thanked for their leadership and service.

Junior NHS members
Junior NHS Members

Newly inducted members of NHS include seniors Andrew Fish, Ryan Hanratty, Samuel Senneka and Anna Worden, and juniors Emily Arneson, Daniel Ayaz, Maxwell Bortnem, Grace Bowe, Melissa Christlieb, Nicholas Drilling, Samuel Dufault, Grace Elling, Thomas Elliott, Ethan James, Lauren Kelly, Alexandra Kline, Samantha Kline, Kristopher Kurtz, Lauren Lachenmayer, Joshua Leech, Aidan Maloney, Asha Martel, Lauren Martin, Tia Meyer, Thomas Miller, Melanie Musselman, Leandra O’Connell, Dylan O’Flanagan, Jonathon Oftedahl, Carter Phillips, Charles Reinhardt, Elizabeth Rice, Jennifer Schaible, Ben Schmalz, Jessica Skelley, Ellie Skogsberg, Taylor Smith, Allen Soley, Ela Springer, Shane Stevenson, Navin Thakurdial, Maya Thurston, Linnea Week, Hannah Wells and Paige Weltzin.

Seniors who were inducted into the NHS program last year include Makenzie Anderson, Caitlin Balk, Calli Battis, Lilly Biglow, Jessy Cai, Trey Courneya, Evan Dahl, Julia Elling, Inga Erdahl, Jamie Goldberg, Madison Gutekunst, Austin Hargreaves, Megan Heins, Rose Helland, Diana Hoernemann, Joelle Hoernemann, Adam Hoogeveen, Matthew Humbert, John Koch, Reed Kohls, Jack LaTour, Torsten Lee, Maxine Musselman, Victor Nelson, Jonathan Neve, Molly Schoephoerster, Lauren Sherman, Michael Uhas, Brandon Ung, Katelyn Wagner, Abigail Wharram, Audrey Woychick, Shane Yanta and Jack Zimmerman.

“We are proud of your achievements and look forward to watching you grow in leadership, service, character and scholarship in the years to come,” said Advisor Aurora Meunier.