White Hawks News · Senior Standout Athletes Honored at Breakfast

2018 Yost-Haddorff-Leopold Award winners
2018 Yost-Haddorff-Leopold Award winners Evan Dahl and Clara Godoy-Henderson

Mound Westonka High School celebrated standout athletes from the 2018 graduating class at the Yost-Haddorff-Leopold Athletic Recognition Breakfast May 10 at the Gillespie Center in Mound. The event recognized this year’s Athena and Yost-Haddorff-Leopold Award winners, as well as senior three-season athletes, declared college athletes and state tournament participants.

Activities Director Jeff Peterson recognized each athlete in front of a crowd of MWHS students, parents, coaches, staff and alumni. Also in attendance were members of both the Haddorff and Leopold families. Carolyn Leopold and Bob Haddorff provided a history of the memorial award and congratulated the senior athletes on their accomplishments.

Triple ‘A’ Winners

Andrew Fish and Diana Hoernemann were recognized as this year’s school-level Minnesota State High School League Triple “A” winners. The Triple “A” program rewards a senior boy and girl in each high school in Minnesota for outstanding achievement in Academics, Athletics and the Arts.

Both Fish and Hoernemann are four-year members of the auditioned Wind Ensemble and are three-sport athletes. Fish is a member of the football, hockey and baseball teams, and Hoernemann participates in tennis, dance and track and field. Both students also take rigorous course loads, which include several CIS and AP classes.

[Read more about the 2017-2018 Triple ‘A’ winners]

State Tournament Participants

Peterson recognized the four seniors that were members of the state tournament dance team this year. Continuing a long tradition of success, the Hawkettes claimed conference titles in both jazz and high kick and the section title in jazz. The MWHS jazz and kick dancers competed at state for the 12th consecutive year and broke into the finals in jazz, finishing fourth overall—the team’s highest-ever placement.

Diana Hoernemann was named to the All-State Kick Dance Team and also earned the Senior Academic Award. Other seniors on the state tournament dance team were Katie Moore, Claire Robbins and Lauren Sherman.

Athena Award

Clara Godoy-Henderson represented Westonka at the metro area 46th Annual Athena Awards Banquet in Minneapolis on May 4. Godoy-Henderson was recognized locally at the senior athletic breakfast for winning both the Athena and Yost-Haddorff-Leopold outstanding female athlete awards. She is a three-sport White Hawks athlete, participating in cross-country, Nordic skiing and golf. The other 2018 Athena candidates were Diana Hoernemann, Mackenzie Anderson, Abigail Wharram, Molly Schoephoerster and Katelyn Wagner.

[Read more about 2018 Athena winner Clara Godoy-Henderson]

Yost-Haddorff-Leopold Award

The nominees for the 65th annual outstanding male athlete award, now called the Yost-Haddorff-Leopold Award, were Evan Dahl, Andrew Fish, Matt Humbert, Reed Kohls, Jack LaTour, Torsten Lee, Hank Nagel, Victor Nelson and Jon Neve.

The award began as the Yost Award in 1953, honoring the late Frank Yost—a local pharmacist and ardent community sports supporter, who died in 1952. In 1994, the award became the Yost-Haddorff-Leopold Award, also honoring the memories of Oscar Haddorff, who died in 1970, a year after retiring as a 25-year MWHS teacher, coach and athletic director; and Cory Leopold, a 1988 MWHS graduate and standout high school and college wrestler, who was killed in a car accident in 1993. The scholarship component was added to the award at that time and is given to the school’s top male and female athletes.

This year’s male Yost-Haddorff-Leopold Award winner, Evan Dahl, has earned 12 varsity letters among football, basketball, baseball and weightlifting. He also earned Academic All-State honors in football this year.

Dahl ended his Mound Westonka football career as the record holder in single season receptions (52), career receptions (72), single season receiving yards (998), career receiving yards (1,214) and career interceptions (9). In addition to his accomplishments on the gridiron, he was a two-time All-Conference Honorable Mention in basketball and a two-time All-Conference Award winner in baseball. Dahl is hoping to lead the White Hawks baseball team to more success this spring.

[Read more about 2018 Yost-Haddorff-Leopold award winner Evan Dahl]

Declared College Athletes

Athletes who had committed to playing at the collegiate level at the time of the breakfast were recognized:
Jon Neve (Macalester – football)
Madison Gutkekunst (Superior – soccer)
Conner Clark (RCTC – football)
Clara Godoy-Henderson (St. Kate’s – golf)

Three-Season Athletes

Also honored at the breakfast were 15 MWHS senior three-season athletes: Marshall Boser, Evan Dahl, Sam Eidsness, Andrew Fish, Joe Funderburk, Adam Hoogeveen, Amy Howarth, Matt Humbert, Hank Nagel, Victor Nelson, Jon Neve, Molly Schoephoerster, Katelyn Wagner, Abby Wharram and Audrey Woychick.

[View photos of the awards breakfast by Dennis Hoogeveen]