Yost/Athena Awards

Athena Award
Founded in 1973, the Minneapolis Athena Awards Committee honors and recognizes outstanding senior female athletes from high schools throughout the metro and suburban Minneapolis areas. Schools select recipients based on excellence in individual and team sports, academic achievements and community involvement.

The Mound Westonka High School Athena Award recognizes the school’s top female athlete. Nominees must have competed in at least two high school sports each year during their high school careers. Each spring, the Minneapolis Athena Awards are presented at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

Athena Award Winners

Yost/Haddorff/Leopold Award
The Yost/Haddorff/Leopold Award began as the Yost Award in 1953, honoring the late Frank Yost, a local pharmacist and ardent community sports supporter, who died in 1952. In 1994 the award became the Yost/Haddorff/Leopold Award, also honoring the memories of Oscar Haddorff and Corey Leopold. Haddorff passed away in 1970, a year after retiring as a 25-year Mound Westonka High School teacher, coach and athletic director. Leopold, a 1988 MWHS graduate and stand-out high school and college wrestler, was killed in a car accident in 1993.

A scholarship component was added to the award in 1994 and is given to the school’s top male and female athletes. The Athena winner is also the female recipient of the Yost/Haddorff/Leopold Scholarship.

Yost/Haddorff/Leopold Award Winners